Hardfault : segmentation fault?

Hello,

This is my first time using mbed, so I am sorry for the mistake i will make. I will update the subject based on your suggestions. For example, i didn’t find a proper way to share my code.

I am trying to get data from a Lidar using the STM Nucleo-F401RG.

It used to be able to see the data using a serial bus, output in mbed console, using RawSerial :
RawSerial se_lidar(PA_11, PA_12, BAUDERATE); Serial PC(SERIAL_TX,SERIAL_RX);

I am using rplidar(lidar supplier) functions to use the lidar :

//Getting data
buf = tim.read_ms();
while(tim.read_ms()-buf<=readTime){//Crashes after around 400
_PC.printf(“tim.read_ms() : %d\n”,tim.read_ms());
lidar.waitPoint(0);//Causes the crash
}

But as i have written in the comment, the program crashes after a while, giving me an hardfault error. Looking at the fault registers, the only fault bit set to 1 is UFSR[2] : integrity check error.

I tried to find posts with similar problem but i got no result.

On the other hand, the debugger led me to SIGSEGV fault (top left of the picture, which relates to a segmentation fault) and the error message :
except.S: No such file or directory

I couldn’t actually find where this error came from.

I obviously understand that you need more of my code to help me out here. I am looking for a proper way to attach it.

In short, i am using the RPLidar method “waitpoint” to get the data,

RPLidar lidar;

then i used the stored data :

lidar.Data[j]

“waitpoint” is defined by the supplier as :

u_result RPLidar::waitPoint(uint32_t timeout){
    uint8_t recvPos = 0;
	uint32_t startTs = timers.read_ms();

uint32_t waitTime;
	rplidar_response_measurement_node_t node;
	uint8_t* nodebuf = (uint8_t*)&node;

uint8_t currentByte;
	while ((waitTime = timers.read_ms() - startTs) <= timeout) {
		if(_binded_serialdev->readable()) 
            currentByte = _binded_serialdev->getc();
        else
            continue;

switch (recvPos) {