I2C with CCS811 basic question

Hello everyone,

I have a question regarding I2C and specifically used for CCS811, but it would apply to all applications.

So I am using the library provided here and I am trying to make my CCS811 on Air Quality click 3 work. The library provides an init() functions which checks the hardware and returns that everything is correct, thus I assume there is communication with the chip.

Since I am fairly new to I2C, I am trying to understand the basics. My aim is to set the measure mode to a value and then read the register to extract the measure mode information and check if it’s correct and if I am using it correctly. I do the following: (also I don’t know how code will appear, let me know how to fix it)

#include “mbed.h”
#include “CCS811.h”
Serial ble(PC_12,PD_2);
I2C i2c(PC_1,PC_0);
CCS811 ccs(i2c,ble);
DigitalOut wake(PB_2);
int main(){

wake=0; //Enable i2c transactions with the chip

ccs.init();//Check hardware and initialise

ccs.setMeasureMode(0x10); //Set measure mode to mode 1

char write[1];
char read[1];

int addr=0xB4; //8-bit slave addres
write[0]=0x01; //measure mode register

while(1){
    i2c.write(addr, write,1);
    i2c.read(addr,read,1);

ble.printf("%x\n",read[0]); //read in HEX and manually convert to binary to check bits 6:4
    wait(1);
}

}

The datasheet states that register 0x01 returns byte and the bits I am interested in are 6:4. When I run this code, even though I should be getting 001 for the specific mode, I get a 0x81 and converting to binary it is 10000001, thus 6:4 is 000.

Am I understanding the I2C correctly or am I doing something fundamentally wrong?
Thank you,
Chris

Hi Chris,

The 0x81 looks like a device ID.
However on first look I see nothing wrong from you but maybe you can try to check if ACKs, by the write and read methods, were returned.

printf( (i2c.write(addr, write,1))==0 ? "ACK\n" : "NAK\n");