MQTT connection error for AWS Example Project

Hi everyone,

I’m very new to the Mbed OS, so I’ve been trying out some example projects to learn some basic principles.

One of these projects is connecting my STM B-L475E-IOT01A board to my AWS account using this guide: https://github.com/ARMmbed/mbed-os-example-for-aws

For reasons I don’t really understand, my AWS credentials and subsequent handshake protocol are working fine, but my MQTT connection is failing:

The MQTT parameters for this example project are set in a JSON file. These MQTT parameters are related to both the publication topic that my AWS account is subscribed to, and the wi-fi connection. I’m not sure if the error is tied to the wi-fi or the MQTT topic.

So far I haven’t been able to track down which part of the example code calls out the error messaging for the MQTT connection. The way I see it, I probably did something wrong in the JSON file, but I don’t know enough about mbed (and makefiles) to have seen it yet.

Has anyone come across a similar problem and been able to resolve it?

Thank you in advance for your time

Hi and welcome to the Mbed community.

First of all, please update the mbed-client-for-aws library to the latest commit in the master branch, it contains a fix which shows the correct error code when connect fails. It would be easier to debug the situation with the correct return code.

As the TLS connection succeeds, your Wi-Fi connection seems to be OK. I believe this is a policy issue in AWS, which results in your device being rejected by the server, please check your AWS IoT logs for more information and make sure you have your policies set up correctly. If you post the logs here, we could investigate the issue further.

Hi Bora,

Thank you for your reply. I have now uploaded the newest version of this library (from 2021).

I’ve been doing a bit more digging on this problem. I went back to look at the github page for the AWSClient for mbed: