Retrieving BLE characteristics from GATT server

Hello. I’m a beginner to Mbed, and have been tasking with writing an application to read Bluetooth data from a sensor. I am very new to developing for BLE, but have been reading as much Mbed documentation as I can find.

Starting with the Mbed BLE_GattClient_CharacteristicUpdates example, I have been able to see valid data from my sensor. However, I am not certain the best way to read the data directly from the Gatt Server. The example code only prints the value on an event, and doesn’t show how to retrieve the data on an as-needed basis.

The way I have been doing it is by inserting a function in the when_characteristic_changed and when_characteristic_changed functions of the example. My function checks to see if the read_event handle matches what data I’m looking for, and updates a local struct that holds sensor data.

From what I’ve read, the handles are not meant to be used this way. How am I supposed to read sensor data as-needed? I’d also rather do it based on the UUID, but the GattReadCallbacksParams do not hold the attribute UUID.

Any help would be appreciated, thank you!

I recommend also using the API reference to guide you: GattClient - API references and tutorials | Mbed OS 6 Documentation

In reality this is determined by the sensor. If the sensor offers a notification service then use it as this automatically triggers value updates once you’ve enabled to be notified, unless of course you’ve a specific reason for polling to read values.

So according to API documentation, if you want to read you’d use this function:

ble_error_t read ( ble::connection_handle_t connHandle,
GattAttribute::Handle_t attributeHandle,
uint16_t offset
) const

This initiate the read procedure of an attribute handle. Then once the attribute value has been read in its entirety, the process issues an attribute read event and passes it to all events handlers registered by onDataRead.