STM32F411CE Black Pill USB

I’m pretty new to mbed, and am experimenting with (as the title says) a Black Pill. It’s programming great, LED blinks, etc. but attempting to plumb up a USB device just hangs. Of course if I configure it for no connect on construction, the code continues running, but the device is never recognized by OSX.

Programming via DFU works great. Any experiences here with what I’m missing to talk to the device in my code?

Hello @livenerochi,

Unfortunately, I have no experience with Mac but the example below works fine on Linux (Ubuntu 18.04 LTS) and on Windows 10. Build it for a BLACKPILL custom target which is using the on-board 25 MHz crystal as system clock source rather than the internal 16 MHz RC oscillator.

As far as I can remember no manual installation of a Mbed USB driver is required on Mac, Linux and Windows 10. So in case it doesn’t work I’d recommend to try various USB cables.

The link below might be useful too:

Hi @hudakz -
I’m using your custom target mostly, and want to thank you for all the work that you’ve done! It got me to a basic blink test!

I’m also using platformio, and I think that my complications are due to that. I’m getting closer to figuring out how to use a custom target definition properly there, but had kind of patched yours into the framework tree, but with some changes that worked, but I did not fully understand. I believe that I may have ended up with a different clock setup than intended.

I need to do more work here to get my head around the right way to do things. Thanks again for all you’ve done here, though - it’s been super helpful!

@hudakz - I have gotten USB working now. I did restructure my project more in line with how platformio wants a custom target integrated, and that’s a good thing.