Assertion failed: id error, how to proceed further?

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner to MbedOS programming and I am developing a program that controls a small robot for university. I have a custom board that has a STM32H743ZIT6 MCU and a STM32H743ZI2 development board. After about one minute or so, no matter what parts of the program I am executing, it crashes, with the following error message:

++ MbedOS Error Info ++
Error Status: 0x80FF0144 Code: 324 Module: 255
Error Message: Assertion failed: id
File: ./mbed-os/events/include\events/Event.h+207
Error Value: 0x0
Current Thread: rtx_idle Id: 0x24006D8C Entry: 0x803D411 StackSize: 0x380 StackMem: 0x24006E58 SP: 0x2407FEC4 
For more info, visit: https://mbed.com/s/error?error=0x80FF0144&tgt=NUCLEO_H743ZI2
-- MbedOS Error Info --

I have no idea what causes this, it seems that no matter what I do this always happens, how should I proceed further. The error message is very vague and does not offer me a lot of information. I am at a complete loss. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks from a new member of this community,
Alexandru

Hello Alex,

the error tells you where was the Assert triggered - File: ./mbed-os/events/include\events/Event.h+207
So try check this description. It seems like you need to check a thread stack size or something similar (just only Tip).

// just for demonstration of a simple use case
#include "mbed.h"

DigitalOut* myled;
InterruptIn button(BUTTON1);

void pressed(){
    // that is wrong and it will triger MBED_ASSERT in the loop
    myled = nullptr;
}

int main(){
    printf("MBED_ASSERT test!\n");

button.rise(callback(pressed));
    myled = new DigitalOut(LED1);

while(1) {
        MBED_ASSERT(myled);
        *myled = !*myled;
        thread_sleep_for(500);
    }
}

BR, Jan