Flash IAP over Ethernet

Hello everyone!

I am new to Mbed but would really like to master this interesting operating system and development environment. This is my first post on this forum and site!

Mbed interested me primarily in the fact that I can do complex things simply!
One of the tasks is to update the firmware over the network (IAP).
Searching the forum gives links to Flash IAP which in turn gives a link to Mbed Stress Test
I tried compiling this code under https://ide.mbed.com/
and the code did not compile absolutely correctly, since there is no file main.cpp and function main.
There is a usage description in the README.md file, but it’s probably for Linux, and I’m using Windows.

How can this example be compiled under Windows for board types Nucleo-F411+Net shield or/and Nucleo-F767, both with external memory card?
How can I test the example over the network?
What do you recommend to read on this site and beyond on this topic?

Best regards!

Hello,

Before you start something complicated, it would be cool to read something about how Mbed works in general - Introduction - Introduction to Mbed OS 6 | Mbed OS 6 Documentation

Mbed Stress Test of course contains a main (not only one), you need to look into the TESTS folder. But anyway it was not updated for more than year, so I do not think it is good for start.

Something to start with on the context of your topic

BR, Jan

Hello, Jan!

Thanks for the links to the documentation and code examples.
The documentation is really very helpful for understanding how Mbed works.

However, in your examples, there is a code for writing one of the files on demand from an SD card. In this case, the software update via Ethernet will be in two stages:

1. Accept the firmware file using one of the file transfer protocols and write it to the SD card.
  2. On command, write the firmware file from the SD card to the memory of the target controller and restart the program.