Hardfault Exception on function return and IBUSERR

Hi Guys,

I am still a newbie when it comes to STM32F4 MCU, mbed and Yotta, so hopefully someone can help me with issues I encountered during the debugging of the simple LEDBlink example I followed from the mbed website.

I am using STM32F411RE-Nucleo Board. I used the stm32f411re-nucleo-gcc as my Yotta target. I encountered some compilation errors along the way, but was able to resolve those by supplying the files the build was looking:

• device.h
  • target_config.h
  • stm32f411xe.h
  • startup_stm32f4xx.s
  • system_stm32f4xx.c
  • STM32F411XE.ld

Now that i started to debug the firmware using Eclipse + OpenOCD + GDB setup, i encountered a HardFault exception. Tracing HardFault registers, these are the values:

• HFSR (HardFault Status Register) = 0x40000000 which means a Forced Fault
  • CSFR (Configurable Fault Status Reg) = 0x100 which means IBUSERR or instruction bus error

Here is where the hardfault always happen. During debugging and I stepped into HAL_TIM_OC_Init(&TimMasterHandle); and when I reached at the exit point of the HAL_TIM_OC_Init(&TimMasterHandle); function, it will raise the HardFault exception.

// Reconfigure the HAL tick using a standard timer instead of systick.
HAL_StatusTypeDef HAL_InitTick(uint32_t TickPriority) {
_ (void)TickPriority;_

_ // Enable timer clock_
_ TIM_MST_RCC;_

_ // Reset timer_
_ TIM_MST_RESET_ON;_
_ TIM_MST_RESET_OFF;_

_ // Update the SystemCoreClock variable_
_ SystemCoreClockUpdate();_

_ // Get clock configuration_
_ RCC_ClkInitTypeDef RCC_ClkInitStruct;_
_ uint32_t PclkFreq;_
_ // Note: PclkFreq contains here the Latency (not used after)_
_ HAL_RCC_GetClockConfig(&RCC_ClkInitStruct, &PclkFreq);_
_ // Get TIM1 clock value_
_ PclkFreq = HAL_RCC_GetPCLK1Freq();_
_ // TIMxCLK = PCLKx when the APB prescaler = 1 else TIMxCLK = 2 * PCLKx_
_ if (RCC_ClkInitStruct.APB1CLKDivider != RCC_HCLK_DIV1) {_
_ PclkFreq *= 2;_
_ }_

_ // Configure time base_