Making a rotary sensor an input device to computer

Hello, this is my first project.
I have little to no experience in coding so I decided to ask for help here.

So I’ve set up my breadboard with a Nucleo F303K8 and a rotary sensor. My idea was to make the rotary sensor into a game controller. For that I need to make this sensor output a key, for example W, for every click/turn (?) it makes.

I used D10 for Switch, D9 for Clock, and D8 for Data, if that helps.

No idea how to make it work, any help would be appreciated.

Hello,

Are you sure, this is the best way? Maybe a video of C++ basics and Arduino could be much better, for a starting point. I also started here as a newbe few years ago, but I had some experiences from VBA an VB (.Net).
Also usually is good to do an effort by yourself and when you will stuck, then you can ask.

What do you want to connect the controller to and how?
For example PC. PC controllers are usually connected to PC as USB HID device. But your board does not have USB interface (It has nothing to do with the onboard USB connector). So without an additional hardware (that also add additional complications) you are not able to connect it to PC.

Please be so kind and share some information about your sensor, product name for example.

BR, Jan

Thanks for the reply! I really appreciate it.

That actually answered a lot of questions. I didn’t know whether it was possible or not, just had some things laying around my house and finally decided to put some use to them, as well try out some coding where I totally over expected the difficulty level.

For the sensor, I made a mistake. It’s actually an encoder not sensor, that’s if there’s any difference. I don’t remember the exact name though, I’ve had it for a long time. I know that it’s one without a breakout.