MAX32630FTHR BLE error

Hi,

I am very new to this platform and IDE. I would like to use the BLEHeartRateMon on my MAX32630FTHR MCU and tried adding the BLE_API library onto Mbed Studio. However when I tried compiling I get all sorts of errors below. Am I missing any additional libraries or using an imcompatible version? I am using version mbed-os 5.14.2. Appreciate any help!

[ERROR] .\source\main.cpp:19:10: fatal error: ‘ble/BLE.h’ file not found

Thanks,
Ricky

1 Like

Do you have an mbed_app.json file for your project? This is required. Here is a standard one found on the armmbed github repository. Note that it does not include your board.

So you could try adding your board. You may also need to make further mods to your target configuration to get it to work.

I think the reason may be due to the mbed-os don’t support BLE feature. I can compile the source code in the online complier. I find that the online complier include BLE feature in the mbed-os.

Thanks,
Ricky

Sorry my error.

For some reason I thought you were using the latest MAX32680 microcontroller rather than the MAX32630.

It is worth searching through the forum as there is plenty (the good, bad & ugly) about the MAX32630FTHR.

If that link is TL;DR, then basically the BLE module on max32630fthr micro is a peripheral device and thus requires TI specific CC256x HCI commands to get it to work with the micro. There is no longer an API within Mbed OS 6 to bridge this with the cordio stack.

I disable the BLE and use the printf to debug.
printf(“%02x:”, hrmCounter);

However, I don’t know how to see the data. I add the following code.
“*”: {

"platform.stdio-baud-rate": 115200,

"platform.stdio-buffered-serial": 1

},

and I use uart 2 TX pin to output the data to PC. I set the baudrate to 115200, but nothing can be seen.

Thanks,
Ricky

The answer is revealed in the PinNames.h file found in the MbedOS targets folder for the Maxim MAX32639FTHR board.

There are two #defines for CONSOLE_TX & CONSOLE_RX