POST is sent twice

I am currently developing an IoT device which must connect to an API-server.
Since this is my first project with mbedtls on freertos I am a bit lost and I hope I can learn fast.

System summary:
Controller: STM32F746IGT
TCP/IP-Stack: LWIP
And of course mbedTLS

So bascially what the programm needs to do:

• Start a TLS connection
  • Get an OAuth2 token from the server
  • Do something with it (not yet clear because I am missing a LOT of information)
  • TBD

So I managed with the help of others to start up the TLS connection. This works so far. It correctly encrypts and decrypts messages with the server. I checked that with Wireshark and I extracted the Master Secret from it. (I have made an HTML/JS application to extract the ā€˜client hello randomā€™ and ā€˜master secretā€™ key from the debug output of mbedtls if anyone wants it)

The problem
So after analyzing the whole datastream which is sent to the serve I noticed that the POST header is sent twice for no apparant reason.
I only send it once in the code. It looks like this:

sprintf((char *) buf, POST_REQUEST);
len = strlen((char *) buf);
while((ret = mbedtls_ssl_write(&ssl, buf, len)) <= 0) { ...

But on Wireshark I see this after I decrypted the whole transaction:
Sent to server: (one package)

POST /uaa/oauth/token HTTP/1.1
Host: my.server.com
Content-type: application/x-www-form-urlencoded

grant_type=password&username=some.email@address.org&password=password1234&client_id=iiot-gateway&client_secret=xxxxxxxxx

Received from server:

HTTP/1.1 401
Server: nginx/1.14.0 (Ubuntu)
Date: Tue, 28 Jan 2020 10:38:15 GMT
Content-Type: application/json;charset=UTF-8
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Connection: keep-alive
Cache-Control: no-store
Pragma: no-cache
WWW-Authenticate: Basic realm="UAA/client", error="unauthorized", error_description="Bad credentials"
X-XSS-Protection: 1; mode=block
X-Frame-Options: DENY
X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff