C030-R412m: No serial monitor output

Hi!

I’m a beginner with Mbed and have purchased the C030-R412m target. Even simple applications are impossible to run and cannot understand why.

• Target is detected right and successful connected (green symbol) in Mbed Studio.
  • Empty Mbed program successfully created.
  • Build profile is Develop.
  • OS mbed-os-5.15.6 is installed in libraries.
  • Switch on target is on position 2 (default).
  • Serial monitor baud rate 9600 or 115200.

Her my code:

#include "Serial.h"
#include "mbed.h"

Serial rs(PD_8, PD_9); // Arduino Serial pinout.

void rs_recv() {
    while(rs.readable()) {
        printf("%d", rs.getc());
    }
}

int main() {
    printf("Hello!");

rs.baud(115200);
    rs.attach(&rs_recv, Serial::RxIrq);

while (true) {}
}

The program compiles without errors and after run i get no output on the serial monitor.

• No “Hello!”.
  • No data from serial “rs”.
  • Nothing!

I have tried different things without success. This is very frustrating. I’m familiar with the Arduino family, where simplest programs work out of the box. So, what I’m doing wrong?

How can I connect to UART3 (Arduino Uno R3 Interface)? Is this the right way: Serial rs(PD_8, PD_9); ?

Hello,

there differencis between

the first one, without object rs will put your string to default debug console under default 9600

printf("%d", rs.getc());

and second one will put your string to pins what you have set in constructor of rs object, under 115200

rs. printf("%d", rs.getc());

BR, Jan

2 Likes

Thx! This helps me to understand better how printf works.

How can I instantiate the USB debug serial for my target? Is this correct?

Serial pc(USBTX, USBRX);

According to u-blox C030-R412M LTE CatM1/NB1 and 2G | Mbed, the board include on-board debuger → ST-link.
If you not have installed drivers for ST-link’s VCP, then download it from ST web pages and then just check the COM port of ST-link in your PC device management.