How to get started with this board (WISE-1510)

Hello community,
I’m new to mbed OS and my goal is to have a generic LoRaWAN node where I can use different I2C sensors for real life applications.

My background: I’m a software developer writing saas applications with some basic arduino experience doing some experimentation with IoT.

After some research, I’ve found this board: https://buy.advantech.com/Buy-Online/bymodel-WISE-1510.htm

From here I’m lost what I’d need to do.

• What type of adapter should I have to connect to it?
  • Once I have the adapter to connect to it, is it just a matter of writing code using the mbed os ide and load to it?
  • How do I power the board?

I’m open for suggestions on how to achieve this goal. I’m also open to buy a dev kit to learn the basics before jumping to this. Do you know any good book or online course where I could gain the minimum knowledge around this topic?

Thank you in advance.

Hi Ricardo.

You doing it the hard way. I also started as a Software developer and now i’m creating hardware in kicad and selling lora products to companies.

I extensively understand the chips and interconnects inside that module, but that form factor you get there is just not one i have worked with.
The product you select is just a form factor that goes into a slot you solder to your board. You program it with an st-link v3 via swd. That is no rookie or arduino lvl mcu :wink: You need to understand stm32 ecosystem first.
You got there a package in a form factor for oems. You can try to understand it through carrier board desisgn or get a carrier board kit. They have a document fot it.
And you should get a stm32 lora kit and learn the ropes first if you want to cut ties with arduino world.
But i think there are better solution out there that i don’t know if i’m allowed to publicize here :slight_smile:

Hey @Pedro_Dias