I need help to understand the way Mbed OS makes things "simpler"

Please forgive me if I am talking about has already been discussed or it is a wrong topic.

How I got here:

I am an embedded engineer, who has mostly used STM32 MCU-s, and for programming they used STM32CubeMX generated templates. From the tools, I have tried many things - from Keil to Eclipse-based solutions like STMWorkbench and Atollic True Studio.

Most of the programming I do is for the custom cost-optimized boards that we manufacture in hundreds to thousands.

I have a new project that uses the STM32L422 MCU (the cheapest one that meets the requirement) and ublox SARA G450 GSM/GPRS modem.

I thought about going my usual route - use the FreeRTOS and write most of my libraries. You can imagine my excitement when I found Mbed OS that has official ublox libraries, and so many features- HTTP support, device management, OTA updates and so much more!

For the last week, I have been trying to configure Mbed for my use, unsuccessfully so far.

It seems like the Mbed isn’t targeted for serious people who actually want to use their own hardware? Because everything is targeted for “officially supported boards” - the boards that no one will ever use in production.

For example, my board will cost me about 30 EUR in production, but a similar functionality board like u-Blox C030-U201 costs about 150 EUR. And that is okay, devkits are usually expensive.

But then why is PORTING MADE SO COMPLICATED for any other “unsupported target”? It even seems like most of the porting documentation is targeted for people wanting to make their board public - which is almost never the case with proprietary designs. I am not interested in making an official bord and I don’t need to run all of your tests, I just need to use the OS as-is.

Why is everything so focused on USB copy/paste programming when that doesn’t work in series production? Why are IDE/development tools so archaic? Where is line-by-line debugging?