Seriously Disappointed

I’m an embedded engineer, been programing for decades on Pics, STM32’s, etc, etc.

When I found your site I was excited, I even mentioned it at a staff meeting.

SO when I needed a quick UART to I2C converter I thought, this is my chance to prove how well MBED OS can work! I have a bunch of Nucleo boards around, I grabbed a 073 version and created a project. First, as a proof of concept I just attached a dumb OLED SSD1306, found an archived project that should talk to it, piece of cake right?

I would not build. Finally figured out it was the libraries, got that fixed. Now it builds, but won’t run. No debugging on the web-site interface, download the desktop version. It won’t build, same problem. It won’t run, and it won’t debug… Transfer it to Eclipse (I’m more at home with eclipse anyway). Can’t get it to build for anything. After 8 hours of total struggling I abandoned the entire thing.

I was wrong. This is shit.

2 Likes

Yes, I can really sympathise. I had left MBED years ago when they changed from MBED OS version 2 to version 5 as I had a similar experience. But I am back and getting to understand and appreciate some of the great things that MBED OS 6.x has to offer and busy trying out MBED Studio instead of just the online compiler option.

However, IMHO, the legacy of that chaotic almost shambolic OS 5 content update on the MBED website remains.