Mbed USBAudio breaks Arduino serial uploading

I have some experience with Arduino but am not a C++ expert and am interested in using the mbed USBAudio class to send audio from the Pico to a PC. I found some examples and made them work, but I think the author maybe did not properly handle the USB port, because after playing USB audio both ways the Pico always showed up as “mbed Audio” in Device Manager rather than as a serial port. I could compile new programs that didn’t use the USBAudio class but was unable to upload them because at the end of the compile the Pico would appear as a new USB Storage Device and the following error message would be displayed:

rp2040load 1.0.1 - compiled with go1.15.8
.ERROR: Could not open ‘C:\Users\user\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_664182/test_pico.ino.elf.uf2’

the selected serial port
does not exist or your board is not connected

There is indeed no uf2 file, but there is an elf file in the Pico build directory and I have a utility called elf2uf2 that I can use to make a uf2 file that I can then drop on the Pico USB storage device which will accept it and run the new code. As an example, I dropped a “blink” example this way and the Pico indeed starts blinking. But it’s obviously a cumbersome process.

I even tried a brand new factory-fresh Pico board but when I plugged it in it came up as a USB memory device without holding down the boot sel button instead of as a serial device. So of course the serial upload could not work when I tried sending the blink program to it because there’s no serial port available. Connecting the blank Pico to USB while holding down the boot sel button makes it appear as a USB storage device as it should but for some reason plugging it in without pressing boot sel does the same thing now, instead of showing up as a serial device. Prior to these experiments the expected functionality worked fine.