Memory map (.elf.map) file fails to generate with multiple CMake targets

Hi, I’m a developer for my university’s robotics team, where we’ve been using (and having great success) with the mbed ecosystem. As a part of our competition, we create multiple robots, with a lot of code overlap between each robot, so we chose to create a CMake based project (using mbed-tools/Mbed CLI2) with multiple targets.

The project directory is along these lines:

MyCoolRobotProject
    /mbed-os
    /robots
        /MyCoolRobot1
            CMakeLists.txt
            main.cpp

/MyCoolRobot2
            CMakeLists.txt
            main.cpp

main.h
        CMakeLists.txt
    CMakeLists.txt

The top CMakeLists is responsible for using the shared mbed-os directory for both of the targets:

# mbed variables
set(MBED_PATH ${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR}/mbed-os CACHE INTERNAL "")
set(MBED_CONFIG_PATH ${CMAKE_CURRENT_BINARY_DIR} CACHE INTERNAL "")
set(APP_TARGET MyCoolProject)

include(${MBED_PATH}/tools/cmake/app.cmake) # Enable cmake for mbed

project(${APP_TARGET})

add_subdirectory(${MBED_PATH})

link_libraries(mbed-os) # Now mbed-os can be used for my robots
add_subdirectory(robots)

The CMakeLists.txt in my robots directory doesn’t do too much, just adds the MyCoolRobot1 and MyCoolRobot2 dirs:

include_directories(${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR}) # Include my main.h file

add_subdirectory(MyCoolRobot1 EXCLUDE_FROM_ALL)
add_subdirectory(MyCoolRobot2 EXCLUDE_FROM_ALL)

And lastly, the two CMakeLists.txt in each robot dir (namely, MyCoolRobot1 and MyCoolRobot2) are identical, and differ only in the target name.

project(MyCoolRobot1) # Can also be MyCoolRobot2, the CMakeLists is identical

add_executable(${PROJECT_NAME})

mbed_configure_app_target(${PROJECT_NAME})

get_filename_component(PARENT_DIR ${CMAKE_CURRENT_SOURCE_DIR} DIRECTORY)
target_sources(${PROJECT_NAME} PRIVATE main.cpp ${PARENT_DIR}/main.h)

mbed_set_post_build(${PROJECT_NAME})