SAMR21 Thread / Mesh Implementation Questions

(Colin Foe-Parker) #1

Hi Everyone,

I am relatively new to the mbed ecosystem. I am trying to evaluate the state of the software for a future wireless 802.15.4 design. I would would like to build a thread demonstration using the SAMR21 XPlained Development Board. I have seen similar examples on Atmel's video demonstrations.

I have successfully configured yotta to build the default blinky app for the SAMR21 XPlained Development Board. It blinks and spits text out the USB serial port. Woot! Win!

I believe my next jumping off point is the mbed-client-example-6lowpan.

I have changed the configuration to "appl_bootstrap_mode_thread: true" and "device_type: MESH_DEVICE_TYPE_THREADY_SLEEPY_END_DEVICE"

I have worked through the compile time issues and all the modules are currently building. The issue I have is at link time.

~/sandbox/mbed-client-example-6lowpan/yotta_targets/atmel-samr21g18a-gcc/CMake/../ld/samr21g18a.ld:115 cannot move location counter backwards (from 000000002000bd84 to 0000000020006000)

I believe this error is a result of trying to squeeze too much into the 32KB of RAM on the MCU. Which brings up the relevant questions:

1.) This video demonstrates Thread running on the evaluation hardware. Is that example available in public anywhere?

2.) If I need to shrink the RAM and Flash footprint of the demonstration, what modules can be removed? I have provided the output of yt ls below.

mbed-client-example-6lowpan 0.0.2
┣━ mbed-client 1.4.9
┃ ┣━ mbed-client-c 2.2.11 yotta_modules/mbed-client-c
┃ ┃ ┗━ nanostack-libservice 3.1.1 yotta_modules/nanostack-libservice
┃ ┣━ mbed-client-mbed-os 1.1.6 yotta_modules/mbed-client-mbed-os
┃ ┃ ┣━ mbed-drivers 1.3.0 yotta_modules/mbed-drivers
┃ ┃ ┃ ┣━ mbed-hal 1.2.2 yotta_modules/mbed-hal
┃ ┃ ┃ ┃ ┗━ mbed-hal-atmel 1.0.0 yotta_modules/mbed-hal-atmel
┃ ┃ ┃ ┃ ┣━ mbed-hal-atmel-common 1.0.0 yotta_modules/mbed-hal-atmel-common