NUCLEO-F446RE “The interface firmware FAILED to reset/halt the target MCU"

Hi, I’m new to this, so bare with me :smiley:

I’m following the UM2421 - getting startet guide for the P-NUCLEO-IOM01M1, and everytime I connect the USB to my PC, I get the FAIL.txt where it says: The interface firmware FAILED to reset/halt the target MCU.
I have tried to reinstall the ST-LINK, update the firmware on the NUCLEO-F446RE, Checked the jumper positions (they are sat correct) , but everytime i get the FAIL.txt saying the same thing.

I have no idea what to do, so please if someone have a solution for this problem

1 Like

Well looking over the documentation for this, it looks like you aren’t actually supposed to use the ST-Link to flash anything, right? Does the serial port still show up? Does the eval tool still run OK?

Hi Jamie
The serial port and eval tool runs as before I tried to flash the F446RE through the eval tool and now also ST-Link Utility.

Same problem, I will wait for the solution as well.
Do the same thing and it does work for F429ZI but doesn’t for F446RE.

the microcontroller is bad, just change it.

Excuse me, do you mean change the new board or model or brand? hahaha

I had the same problem in custom boards when I tried to program them using DAPLink. The problem was caused because the MCU was locked, in my case, due to some flash security configurations I set. Unlocking it with an external debugger was the solution.
If an external debugger does not work either, maybe the problem is in your MCU as @wubaojun said.

In addition to this, you may try to unlock it using pyocd.

1 Like

I had a similar error message reported in the FAIL.TXT file located on the board’s virtual disk after I accidentally interrupted an ongoing program download to the chip:

The interface firmware FAILED to initialize the target MCU.

In addition, the chip got locked (I was not able to connect to it anymore) as reported above by David.

Performing the following steps fixed the issue: