Stm32f769 discovery kit unstable with little filesystem

Hello !

First time around here, so I am not sure if this is where that post should be. Feel free to move or let me know where to move it to if not.

It is my first time with microcontrollers, and I have gotten a stm32f769 discovery kit to try doing a project of mine.

I’ve been trying to use the little filesystem as per the mbed-os-examples-filesystem. I have not modified the code in any way, merely compiled it using mbed-cli utility and gcc 10.2.1 – I also tried gcc 9.2, and gcc 11.1…

It appears that the whole thing isn’t very stable however. Sometimes it will run the demo without any problem, then the next time I press the reset button on my board, the cod will either fail to create a file, either fail to create the filesystem, fail to init the block device, fail mounting it, or opening the root directory… It might work but more often than not it crashes with error 4001 or 4004.

I’m trying to use the qspi on the discovery kit, and I cannot get it to behave. If I set force reformat to false, the filesystem ends up not working maybe at the 2nd or the 3rd run, 4 if I’m lucky.

Here is an example. Between the 2 runs I only pressed reset, and made sure the first run was finished before and the program had exited.

--- Terminal on /dev/ttyACM0 - 9600,8,N,1 ---
--- Mbed OS filesystem example ---
Mounting the filesystem... OK
formatting... OK
Opening "/fs/numbers.txt"... Fail :(
No file found, creating a new file... OK
Writing numbers (10/10)... OK
Seeking file... OK
Incrementing numbers (10/10)... OK
Closing "/fs/numbers.txt"... OK
Opening the root directory... OK
root directory:
    numbers.txt
Closing the root directory... OK
Opening "/fs/numbers.txt"... OK
numbers:
Unmounting... OK
Mbed OS filesystem example done!
formatting... Fail :(

++ MbedOS Error Info ++
Error Status: 0x80FF0100 Code: 256 Module: 255
Error Message: Fatal Run-time error
Error Value: 0x0