Updated libraries now get Error about FPU Nucleo f103rb

Using the latest version of Mbed studio and Mbed Os 6.13 or 5.15.7 I get this error when trying to use a Nucleo f103rb. Currently, just a blank OS with include Mbed.h
“In included file: “Compiler generates FPU instructions for a device without an FPU (check __FPU_PRESENT)””
is the Nucleo F103RB no longer supported since it doesn’t have a hardware FPU?

3 Likes

If you are using CMake, this issue can be caused by switching processor targets without deleting your build directory to force CMake to reconfigure. More generally, it indicates that something is wrong with your compile flags.

how do I know if Mbed is using cmake or how to configure it? I am using it as set up from the box I actually tried a fresh install on a different computer same issue.

Sorry I am a bit of noob to this I’ve done a few projects but by no means an expert.

1 Like

The nucleo f070 has the same problem.

1 Like

Hello,

from my point of view, if you are not experienced user, then just forget the cmake.

However, I tried to compile it

• Online compiler - Compilation OK, .bin file was generated
  • Mbed Studio - Compilation OK, .bin file was generated but error occurred
  • Keil Studio online - Compilation OK, .bin file was generated but error occurred

Error: In included file: “Compiler generates FPU instructions for a device without an FPU clang(check __FPU_PRESENT)”

{
	"resource": "file:///c%3A/Users/O/Mbed%20Programs/mbed-os-example-blinky/main.cpp",
	"owner": "file:///c%3A/Users/O/Mbed%20Programs/mbed-os-example-blinky/main.cpp",
	"code": "pp_hash_error",
	"severity": 1,
	"message": "In included file: \"Compiler generates FPU instructions for a device without an FPU (check __FPU_PRESENT)\"",
	"source": "clang",
	"startLineNumber": 5,
	"startColumn": 9,
	"endLineNumber": 5,
	"endColumn": 17
}

It seems like it is not from compiler but from clang what have a problem with something again.